

## SOUTH CAROLINA REVENUE AND FISCAL AFFAIRS OFFICE STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED FISCAL IMPACT (803)734-3780 • RFA.SC.GOV/IMPACTS

This fiscal impact statement is produced in compliance with the South Carolina Code of Laws and House and Senate rules. The focus of the analysis is on governmental expenditure and revenue impacts and may not provide a comprehensive summary of the legislation.

<b>Bill Number:</b>	H. 3466 Introduced on January 12, 2021
Author:	Long
Subject:	Firefighter Training
Requestor:	House Medical, Military, Public, and Municipal Affairs
RFA Analyst(s):	Coomer
Impact Date:	January 27, 2021

### **Fiscal Impact Summary**

The expenditure impact of this bill on local fire departments is undetermined because firefighters' salaries and the amount, type, and location of mandatory firefighter training is set by individual local fire departments. However, the costs for local fire departments that use State Fire Academy training courses are expected to be minimal since the Academy underwrites the majority of the costs of the courses. The State Fire Academy is under the administration of the Office of the State Fire Marshall, which is under the administration of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR).

### **Explanation of Fiscal Impact**

Introduced on January 12, 2021 State Expenditure N/A

**State Revenue** N/A

#### Local Expenditure

This bill requires an employer who hires a firefighter to reimburse the firefighter's former employer for mandatory firefighter training costs. If the firefighter is hired within one year of completing training, the new employer must reimburse 100 percent of the training costs, including the firefighter's salary paid during training. If the firefighter is hired after one year but within two years of completing training, the new employer must reimburse 50 percent of the costs. This applies to more than one subsequent employer, and no employer may be reimbursed for more than 100 percent of the training costs.

South Carolina Code of Laws does not mandate, or authorize the State Fire Academy to mandate, minimum training hours or training courses for firefighters. Thus, mandatory firefighter training is determined by the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ), which is most often the local fire department or local fire chief. Additionally, the AHJ may decide to train firefighters "inhouse," through the State Fire Academy, or through a third-party training.

The Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) reports that the State Fire Academy (which is under the administration of OSFM) offers an eight-week training program that costs between \$700 and \$800. Individual classes offered by the Academy range from four to several hundred hours, and because the Academy underwrites the majority of the costs of these classes, the classes typically cost between \$5 and \$25 per class.

Since the amount, type, and location of firefighter training is determined by each individual AHJ, and since the State Fire Academy does not collect information on salaries of firefighters throughout the state, the cost to local fire departments due to this bill is undetermined. However, costs for local fire departments that use Academy training courses are expected to be minimal since the Academy underwrites the majority of the costs of the courses.

# Local Revenue

N/A

Frank A. Rainwater, Executive Director